Google +


Scott P. Roy

Director, Communications

(305) 243-8939

(786) 256-9859

Home > News & Media > In the News




Message from Scientific Director W. Dalton Dietrich, Ph.D. from the 28th Annual National Neurotrauma Symposium

W. Dalton Dietrich, Ph.D.


June 22, 2010 - The 28th Annual National Neurotrauma Symposium was a great success. Almost 700 attendees with significant involvement from NIH and Industry participated in the 3 day meeting. It was very rewarding to see so many outstanding posters from the Miami Project Scientific Community. Next year, our very own Dr. Ross Bullock will be the President of the Society and will organize the 2011 Florida Meeting which will take place in south Florida.


A big congratulations to Michelle Theus, from Dr. Dan Liebl’s laboratory, who won the  Women in Neurotrauma Research Award.  Michelle’s poster presentation was outstanding and she obviously impressed the judges with the science and significance of Eph receptors in adult neurogenesis. It was very exciting and gratifying to hear one of our researchers names called out in front of over 700 neurotrauma scientists and clinicians at the Awards Banquet.

Additional congratulations to Miami Project principal investigators Helen Bramlett, Ph.D. and Coleen Atkins, Ph.D.  for being voted to help lead the Society in 2012. As elected officials,  Dr. Bramlett will serve as Vice President and Dr. Atkins as Secretary Treasurer of the National Neurotrauma Society for a 1 year term.  Congratulations to these individuals for these very important leadership accomplishments.

Education Director Kim Anderson-Erisman, Ph.D. will soon have a more comprehensive wrap up from the meeting but I wanted to share a couple of items that stood out at the conclusion of the conference.

Return to In the News

Copyright 2014 University of Miami. All rights reserved.